Chappell Road, Manchester, Lancashire, M43 7NA

0161 370 2071

St Stephen's RC Primary School

Together we can achieve our best


Date of Appointment Term of Office ends
Bernadette Mattison  Chair of Governors 09/01/13 08/01/17 Re-appointed 2017
Paul McGuiness  Vice Chair of Governors 1/09/15 31/08/19
Fr B Wilson  Foundation Governors 01/09/2017 31/08/2021
Carl Blake LA Governor 01/09/17 31/08/21
Helen Warrender  Foundation Governor 01/09/16 31/08/20

John Hawksworth

 Foundation Governor





 Foundation Governor


Hannah Szoltesek

 Foundation Governor

24/07/15 23/07/19
Brendan Marley  Headteacher
Connor Lavin  Deputy head
Laura Herbert  Staff Governor 15/09/16 14/09/20
Beatrice Smith  Parent Governor Elected Jan 2017
Kelly Compton  Parent Governor Elected Jan 2017
Governor Name

Conflicting Business or

Personal interest declared 25.11.15

Relationship to members of the school community Role in other educational establishments

Bernadette Mattison

None None None
Fr Wilson None None None
Paul McGuiness None Husband of TA Governor of St Damian's High School
Helen Warrender None None None
Hannah Szoltesek None None None
Brendan Marley None None Governor of St Patrick's RC Oldham
Carl Blake none None none
Laura Herbert none None None
Connor Lavin None None None


Governors are like a Board of Directors and make decisions about how the School is run. They meet at least once a term in School.



  • Decide what is taught.
  • Set standards of behaviour.
  • Interview and select staff.
  • Decide how the School Budget is spent.

School Governors have legal duties and responsibilities.
They can only act together, they cannot act individually.


  • Parents
  • Teachers or Support Staff at the School
  • Local Council Representatives
  • Diocesan Representatives (Foundation Governors)


Meet the Governors...


Bernadette Mattison - Foundation Governor


Elected Chair of Governors September 2016 - September 2018

 I am an active member of St Stephens Parish Church with several roles including being a member of the Social Committee and I am proud to be a Eucharistic Minister. I have two daughters' at St Damian’s RC Science College.

 I became Chair when Father Fallon retired and this has led me to take an even greater role within school life, serving on several committees and visiting school on a regular basis for meetings with Mr Marley and Mrs Butterworth.

 It is a pleasure to be part of St Stephen’s, all children and staff are very welcoming.


Paul McGuinness - Vice Chair

 I have been a parishioner for around 25 years and married with three children that attended St Stephen’s and my wife currently works at the school. I have been helping with the sacramental programme (1st Holy Communion) for the last five years and this is my second  year as a foundation governor.

 I’m a community psychiatric nurse (CPN) in the centre of Manchester with Manchester Mental Health NHS trust and visit people in their homes who have enduring mental health problems as well as a union steward for the Royal College of Nursing (RCN)


John Hawksworth - Foundation Governor

I became a school governor at St. Stephens in July 2017.  I’ve been living in Droylsden for the past forty years and both of my children attended the school as does my granddaughter. I am a practicing catholic and care very much about the parish and especially the school. I think that is because of my life experiences and working in  my career and other public duties that I have a wealth of knowledge and experiences that I can bring to the governing body that hopefully will assist the head teacher in ensuring that the school meets its obligations and that the children enjoy a happy and rewarding educational experience.



 The Governing Body has a number of Committes that meet every term. They include


Finance and Staffing

Chair - Mr McGuiness (F)

Mr Marley   (HT) 

Ms Greenstreet (School Business Manager)

Mrs Mattison (F)

Mr Hawksworth (F)

Fr Wilson (F)

Meets half termly


Premises and Safety

Chair - TBC

Mr Marley (HT)

Mr Hawksworth (F)

Mr Alcock - Site Manager

Mrs L Herbert (S)

Meets termly



Chair - TBC(F)

Mrs Crompton

Mrs Mattison (F)

Mr Hawksworth (F)

Mrs L Herbert (S)

meets termly

Governing Body Attendance record

Click here